Saving for a down payment #lifelessons

Buying a house is not an overnight decision. For me, it took around 6 years of saving and financial discipline to have enough money for my down payment. discipline

I don’t come from money. My grandparents were farmers and restaurant workers. Legit, my grandfather made tacos for a living.

My parents were the first in their families to finish high school. When we moved to Canada, they had to start from scratch.  Thanks guys.

I am so lucky that I had extremely hard-working parents who taught me about discipline.  Obviously, when I was growing up, being delayed-gratificationdisciplined was not cool. I wanted new things, and my parents made clear the difference between wants and needs.  I had everything I needed growing up (food, love, shelter) and because I wasn’t able to afford things I wanted, I learned about delayed gratification. I learned about discipline and self control. I learned how to resist the impulses and urges to spend the limited money I had on things I didn’t need. These little life lessons paid off. 6 years of disciplined saving resulted in a 20% down payment on my house.

At the end of the day, it doesn’t really matter how much money you make. It’s how you spend and save that money that makes a difference.

Leave a Reply

